Ed

I listened to Ed Sheeran for the first time in months

For every line a new memory comes

No more tears now

Only thoughts arise
You said you don’t like him

He’s just a guy with a guitar

You’re just practicing with the chords 

And the notes on the bars
You don’t relate to him

Yet I relate his songs to you

For the words, the beat, and the hymn

All remind me of you
You used to sing ‘Thinking Out Loud’

And I’d ask you to stop

No one else can sing it

Besides the man with the carrot top
‘Mah, my, mah, my’ you used to sing

It was awful, made my ears ring

I like those raspy, spontaneous rifts

But your voice sends me to laughing fits
You thought ‘All of the Stars’ is for his grandma

You even had a story about him looking at the skies

It’s for a movie, for the cinema

It’s a love song, you dumbass
When I was a mess, I still told you to ‘Lay it all on me’

You did and the weight crushed me

You asked me if I could still take it

I couldn’t but of course I faked it
Earlier this year, I was singing this for you

‘You need me, I don’t need you’

I did need you at that time

But even yourself, you could not find
I continued to pick up the pieces

To make a Lego house

You never picked any of the pieces

So I had to knock it down
I don’t wanna listen to your voice or your stories

I don’t wanna carry your baggage or any pieces

I finally truly do not need you

Listen to this, ‘I am happier without you.’

Leave a Reply

